Billy Slater Wins The 2011 Dally M Medal

So the Dally M’s were held last night and before I list the results, I need to get something off my chest.

I’m not real sure how relevant the Dally M’s are any more.

First of all, this is an award that has recently been won by Todd Carney and Matt Orford, but has never been won by the great Darren Lockyer. If you think of all the great games Darren Lockyer has played…and how many games he has been at least in the top two best performers in the Broncos side…and then think of the seasons where he has done nothing sort of carry the Broncos…

Yet he has never won it?

If the Dally M Medal is supposed to be an award for consistent excellence over the course of an entire season, and Darren Lockyer has never won it, is it really worth winning?

Outside of the Dally M Medal itself and the Provan-Summons Medal, which is voted on by fans, who honestly cares about any of the other awards? Do they actually matter at all?

Here is a list of the winners of each category:

Dally M Player Of The Year: Billy Slater

Fullback: Billy Slater
Winger: Akuila Uate
Center: Jamie Lyon
Five-Eight: Benji Marshall
Halfback: Jonathan Thurston
Prop: Matt Scott
Second Rower: Sam Thaiday
Lock: Paul Gallen

Captain: Cameron Smith
Coach: Craig Bellemy
Representative Player: Cameron Smith
Rookie: Daly Cherry-Evans
Peter Frilingos Memorial Award: Paul Gallen
Provan Summons People’s Choice Award: Nathan Hindmarsh
Top Point Scorer: Chris Sandow
Top Try Scorer: Nathan Merritt
Toyota Cup Player Of The Year: Jack De Belin

If Jamie Lyon was the best center in the NRL this season then I’m a Manly supporter…

Liked it? Take a second to support League Freak on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!

Leave a Reply