The Top 5 Rugby League Players Of All Time

The Rugby League is one of the two codes of professional rugby, which aims to provide a faster and more entertaining game for the fans. It is a highly popular sport in the UK and Australia, becoming a hit with punters at sports betting sites.

Hundreds of great players have graced the game with their incredible qualities over the years, with some of them rightfully considered the greatest rugby players of all time.

Clive Churchill
Churchill is an Australian rugby league legend who is credited with redefining the fullback role on the field. Spending his best years at South Sydney, Churchill won an incredible five titles with the club, while later coaching them to three more. He was the most capped Australian footballer as well and considered one of the greatest players of all time by leading experts. The NRL’s man of the match award in the Grand Final is named Clive Churchill Medal in honour of his great feats.

Wally Lewis
Who could forget The King? At the peak of his career, Lewis captained Queensland in 30 State of Origin games where he won 8 Man of the Match awards. He previously captaining Australia during the mid-eighties.

He’s a Hall of Famer and one of the Immortals, cementing his place as one of the greatest players ever to grace the game. Wally Lewis spent the best years of his career at the Brisbane Broncos, where he was the top scorer during his first season and the first Broncos player to score a hat-trick.

Darren Lockyer
If we list all the accolades of Lockyer’s career, we’d need to write a book. Locky won 4 Grand Finals as a fullback with the Broncos, is a one-time world player of the year and has a World Cup with Australia. He also has a Clive Churchill medal and has excelled in his career even after changing his position to five-eighth, winning another Golden Boot Award and 5 State Of Origin series. For his feats, Lockyer was included in the Queensland Rugby League’s Team Of The Century at fullback.

John Raper
Playing as a lock-forward for Australia during the 1960s, Raper appeared in 6 World Cup games. He also led the St. George Dragons to 8 consecutive Grand Final victories. He was successful as a coach as well, captain-coaching the Western Suburbs Rosellas to the 1970 Grand Final.

Raper was inducted in The Immortals in 1981 and considered one of the greatest Australian football players.

Andrew Johns
Widely regarded as one of the best players of all time, Jones is the most recent addition to the Immortals and a player whose accolades speak for themselves. Playing as a halfback/scrum-half, Johns led the Newcastle Knights to 2 premierships in 1997 and 2001. He participated in 249 games for the club before retiring at the age of 32 due to injuries.

During his time with the Knights, Johns became only the third player ever to win more than one Golden Boot Award and stands as the highest point-scorer of the Premiership with 2,176 points.

The current NRL season is more than halfway through and bookmakers are already offering betting in the Outright Winner and many other markets. If you think you can’t predict the champ, you can try your hand at match betting, line betting, total points in a match, etc. There’s really no shortage of options for both occasional and experienced punters, so read some on

Liked it? Take a second to support League Freak on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!

Leave a Reply