Featured Guest Writer: Joeynator – The 2007 NZRL Awards

To state the obvious, 2007 has not been the greatest year in the history of New Zealand Rugby League.

But tonight, December 1, the brighter side of the NZ game was acknowledged and celebrated with the annual awards function held at the Telstra Pacific Events Centre, Manukau, Auckland.

Winners from the night were:

Lion Foundation Junior Player of the Year
Ben MateLino (Wellington Orcas)

Southern Trust Referee of the Year
Leon Williamson

Bartercard Cup Coach of the Year
Brent Gemmell (Auckland Lions)

Bartercard Cup Player of the Year
Kelvin Wright (Auckland Lions)

NZ Rugby League Women’s Player of the Year
Honey Hireme (Papakura)

The Mad Butcher Personality of the Year
Steve Price

ISC Rookie of the Year
Sam Perrett

Chrisco Player of the Year
Roy Asotasi
Sam Perrett
Simon Mannering
The winner was Asotasi.

Also named tonight was The Kiwi Team of the Century:
Des White
Phillip Orchard
Tom Hadfield
Tommy Baxter
Roger Bailey
George Menzies
Stacey Jones
Cliff Johnson (captain)
Ruben Wiki
Jock Butterfield
Ron Ackland
Mark Graham
Mal Cooke

From this team, Mark Graham was named player of the century.

The evening was drawn to a close with a special tribute award to Stacey Jones.

Liked it? Take a second to support League Freak on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!

Leave a Reply