The 2013 RLIF Award Winners Are….

The Rugby League International Federation Awards are pretty much like any other international Rugby League awards that are handed out. They leave you scratching your head and wondering who actually votes on these things and do they know anything about the game.

The 2013 edition is no different.

Keep in mind that these awards take in club football as well as international games.

The 2013 RLIF Player Of The Year: Sonny Bill Williams

International Team Of The Year
Fullback: Greg Inglis
Wing: Roger Tuivasa-Sheck
Center: Jamie Lyon
Standoff: Danny Brough
Halfback: Daly Cherry-Evans
Front Rower: Sam Burgess
Hooker: Issac Luke
Second Rower: Sonny Bill Williams
Lock: Corey Parker

Coach Of The Year: Trent Robinson
International Rookie Of The Year: George Burgess
Referee of the Year: Ben Cummins
Spirit Of Rugby League Award: Maurice Oldroyd

Just a few thoughts….

Selecting Sam Burgess as the best front rower in the game is pretty interesting considering how much he plays in the back row. When you consider the long list of brilliant, full time from rowers that New Zealand have right now, the World Cup finalists and current World Champions, I’m willing to say thats a bad choice.

Selecting Issac Luke over Cameron Smith is one I agree with. Luke has had a brilliant season and along with Greg Inglis has been one of the best players at the World Cup.

To suggest that Danny Brough was the best standoff in the entire world in 2013 is simply laughable. I don’t know why people that hand these awards out like to play make believe about things like this but they do it every single year.

Its as though some people within the game are insecure about certain aspects of it. Quite honestly, naming Danny Brough as the best standoff in the game in 2013 is like naming an A League soccer player in the FIFA team of the year. It would just be completely ridiculous.

Liked it? Take a second to support League Freak on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!

Leave a Reply