Life Award For Rugby Legends

A life award is a special ward that is given to experienced athletes with several lifetime
achievements. Established rugby unions honor rugby legends who had a successful rugby
career. They include Mick Doyle, Jack McGrath, Pio Tikoisuva and Ratu Tuisese. Punters
win a mansion bet bonus code when they correctly predict rugby players who will receive a
certain life award. We present to you two rugby legends who received life awards.

Ratu Tuisese and Pio Tikoisuva
The Fiji Rugby Union (FRU) made Tuisese and Tikoisuva life members of the union. Both
players are renowned rugby legends in Fiji. They took part in international and national rugby
championships since 1960. Voreqe Bainimarama, the FRU president chaired the annual general meeting of the rugby union in which Tuisese and Tikoisuva received the life award. It took place at Novotel Suva Lami Bay.

Ratu Tuisese led the first Fijian rugby team which won the FRU Hall of Famer and the Hong
Kongs title in 1977. He fully committed his life to the sport. Francis Kean, the chairman of
the Fiji Rugby Board sent a text to Pio Tikoisuva a few days before the meeting.

Ratu’s Rugby Career
Ratu pioneered the 7s rugby in the nation. He coached, captained and managed the Fijian
team that took part in the Hong Kong 7s. Tuisese debuted in rugby 15s on June 1969.
Unfortunately, his team lost to Wales. However, the legend played as the lock forward for the
national team and they defeated the Irish and British Lions in 1977. Coincidentally, Pio
captained Tuisese’s team. Ratu worked as an official of the Naitasiri Rugby Union before he
joined the Fiji Rugby Union.

Pio’s Rugby Career
Pio debuted in rugby 15s in 1968 at the age of 21. He managed the Fijian team which won the
Hong Kong 7s in 1978. He later retired from international sports. His exceptional skills
earned him a slot in the Harlequins Rugby Club. Tikoisuva served as the CEO of the Fiji
Rugby Union from 2001 to 2005. He managed the Flying Fijians club in 2007. They defeated
Wales in the Rigby World Cup held in France.

Life awards are normally given to rugby athletes who have promoted rugby in their nations or
in the world. Each player is required to provide genuine information during nominations.
Factors such as the scope of a sports career and the success of individual players determine
whether you will receive an award. Ratu Tuisese and Pio Tikoisuva have made a significant
contribution to Fijian rugby.

Liked it? Take a second to support League Freak on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!

Leave a Reply