What Can Be Expected From Rugby In 2019?

The 2019 Rugby World Cup will be held in Tokyo Japan. The tournament will be held from 20 September to 2 November. This will be the first time that it will be held in Asia. Jamaica, Russia, Italy and South Africa had expressed interest in bidding, Japan won the bidding war.

The World Cup is a chance for teams from the Northern and Southern hemisphere to prove themselves against each other. If you are into online sports betting, you would know that online sports betting remains as popular as ever. In fact, it is what many look forward to.

Rugby World Cup Groups
There are 20 teams from across the world which have qualified for the Rugby World Cup. They have
been divided into four groups of five. The top two teams which emerge with the highest number of
points in their pools will qualify for the quarterfinals.

During the 2015 tournament which was held in England twelve teams who emerged the top three teams
in their pools automatically qualified for a spot in the World Cup. They include the likes of New Zealand who won the 2015 tournament, and other countries like Wales, South Africa, Italy and Georgia.

The original draw so the twelve teams being grouped according to their World Rankings. This was done in 2017. However, since then other teams have made it through and are making their way to Japan.

They are:
 USA- Americas 1
 Uruguay- Americas 2
 Russia- Europe 1
 Namibia- Africa 1
 Fiji- Oceania 1
 Tonga- Oceania 2
 Samoa
 Canada

What is expected in Japan?
Honestly, it is too early to make a prediction on who will win the Rugby World Cup 2019. However, since the pools have already been drawn experts are predicting of the potential outcome.

Pool A.
The five teams in Pool A are:
 Ireland.
 Scotland.
 Japan.
 Samoa.
 Russia.

Experts are predicting that Ireland might actually win this pool. So far they have won 21 out of 31 test matches since 2015. This includes the first win over New Zealand this year.

Scotland has also shown potential in winning. Under Gregor Townsend, the team was able to have their girls win against England in the Six Nations tournament. This was the first time in a decade they won the match.

Pool B
In Pool B, you have some great competitor countries, which includes the likes of New Zealand, South Africa, Italy and Namibia.

This pool features the tournament's heavyweights: the All Blacks and the Springboks. Although it is clear that the All Blacks are the tournament's favourite.

Pool C
Pool C has some strong sides too. Here is a list of some of the teams.

This pool is quite unpredictable. All the teams have the potential to win the group. France has been improving under Jacques Brunel. The USA has Gary Gold who is sure to make things quite hard for the other teams.

Pool D

Wales, Fiji, Australia and Uruguay were all placed in the same pool in 2015. This will be another chance for them to prove who is overall best. But experts have put their money on Fiji to reach the quarterfinals.

Liked it? Take a second to support League Freak on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!

Leave a Reply