Australia Names Preliminary 2014 Soccer World Cup Squad


The Australian Socceroos 2014 World Cup squad has been named with 30 players in the preliminary squad that will then be trimmed to the final 23 man squad that will take part in the World Cup in Brazil.

The squad represents a bit of a changing of the guard for Australian soccer with the average age of this squad just 25 years. There are two uncapped players in the 30 squad with 22 of the 30 members having started their careers in Australia’s A League competition.

Here is the squad:

Mark Birighitti (Newcastle Jets FC)
Eugene Galekovic (Adelaide United FC)
Mitchell Langerak (B.V. Borussia 09 Dortmund)
Mat Ryan (Club Brugge KV)

Jason Davidson (SC Heracles Almelo)
Ivan Franjic (Brisbane Roar FC)
Curtis Good (Dundee United FC)
Ryan McGowan (Shandong Luneng Taishan FC)
Matthew Spiranovic (Western Sydney Wanderers FC)
Alex Wilkinson (Jeonbuk Hyundai FC)
Luke Wilkshire (FK Dinamo Moscow)
Bailey Wright (Preston North End FC)

Oliver BOZANIC (FC Luzern)
Mark BRESCIANO (Al Gharafa)
Joshua BRILLANTE (Newcastle Jets FC)
James Holland (FK Austria Vienna)
Mile Jedinak (Crystal Palace FC)
Massimo Luongo (Swindon Town FC)
Matthew McKay (Brisbane ROAR FC)
Mark Milligan (Melbourne Victory FC)
Tommy Oar (FC Utrecht)
Tommy Rogic (Melbourne Victory FC)
Adam Sarota (FC Utrecht)
James Troisi (Melbourne Victory FC)
Dario Vidosic (FC Sion)

Tim Cahill (New York Red Bulls)
Ben Halloran (Fortuna Dusseldorf)
Josh Kennedy (Nagoya Grampus 8)
Matthew Leckie (FSV Frankfurt 1899)
Adam Taggart (Newcastle Jets FC)

Liked it? Take a second to support League Freak on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!

Leave a Reply