The Dally M Medal

Named after the man credited with giving the fledgling game of Rugby League a credible draw card, the Dally M Medal is an award for brilliance, consistency and durability. Points are handed out in every game of a premiership season on a 3-2-1 basis. The points are awarded by News Ltd journalists.

Year Player Club
2015 Johnathan Thurston North Queensland Cowboys
2014 Johnathan Thurston North Queensland Cowboys
2014 Jarryd Hayne Parramatta Eels
2013 Cooper Cronk Melbourne Storm
2012 Ben Barba Canterbury Bulldogs
2011 Billy Slater Melbourne Storm
2010 Todd Carney Sydney Roosters
2009 Jarryd Hayne Parramatta Eels
2008 Matt Orford Manly Sea Eagles
2007 Johnathan Thurston North Queensland Cowboys
2006 Cameron Smith Melbourne Storm
2005 Johnathan Thurston North Queensland Cowboys
2004 Danny Buderus Newcastle Knights
2003 Not Awarded Not Awarded
2002 Andrew Johns Newcastle Knights
2001 Preston Campbell Cronulla Sharks
2000 Trent Barrett St George/Illawarra Dragons
1999 Andrew Johns Newcastle Knights
1998 Andrew Johns Newcastle Knights
1997 Not Awarded Not Awarded
1996 Allan Langer Brisbane Broncos
1995 Laurie Daley Canberra Raiders
1994 Cliff Lyons Manly Sea Eagles
1993 Rickey Stuart Canberra Raiders
1992 Gary Freeman Eastern Suburbs Rootsers
1991 Michael Potter St George Dragons
1990 Cliff Lyons Manly Sea Eagles
1989 Gavin Miller Cronulla Sharks
1988 Gavin Miller Cronulla Sharks
1987 Peter Sterling Parramatta Eels
1986 Peter Sterling Parramatta Eels
1985 Greg Alexander Penrith Panthers
1984 Michael Potter Canterbury Bankstown Bulldogs
1983 Terry Lamb Western Suburbs Magpies
1982 Ray Price Parramatta Eels
1981 Steve Rogers Cronulla Sharks
1980 Robert Laurie South Sydney Rabbitohs


Notes *In 2003 the Rugby League Players Association boycotted the Dally M Awards in protest against the time it was taking to get a Collective Bargaining Agreement in place. Because of this the 2003 Dally M Medal was not awarded. It is however believed that Craig Gower would have taken out the 2003 award. *The 1997 Dally M Awards did not take place due to Super League and the two separate competitions being run.

2 thoughts on “The Dally M Medal

  1. Thanks! I like to think every page on this web site is a useful piece of information. Then I remember I made a Loony Tunes fantasy team and realize that isn’t the case. 😀

Leave a Reply